Update & Possible Right Foot Bunion Coming Back?

Here are the latest pictures of my feet. The left foot is just 3 weeks post surgery and the right is 6 1/2 months post surgery.

DSC_0025  DSC_0027

Compare them to this pre-surgery picture.

Pre-surgery feet

Things are looking much better especially when I compare the left before and after. But the lack of difference in the right foot is concerning. At one point after surgery my right foot was straighter than it is now. I think my big toe is drifting back towards it’s old position.

I’m going to a physical therapy because I’ve learned that a bunion can come back if the muscles of the foot aren’t strong enough. Apparently I have the foot muscles of an infant.

So, I’m going to take some pictures of how my right foot looks now and do some follow along posts to see how the foot progresses. I’m hoping as I work my way through PT my toe will move back to the position it was in two months after surgery.

Stay tuned…

5 thoughts on “Update & Possible Right Foot Bunion Coming Back?

  1. It looks like the natural shape of your foot. If your big toe stuck straight out it would look awkward and be uncomfortable in shoes. I think it looks great! Do you feel a bunion in that foot?

    Like

    1. Thanks Tracy. I am pretty happy with it and agree that if it stuck straight out it would look odd. I think these pictures make it look better than it does in real life.

      Like

  2. I had my lapidus done on my right foot this past Wednesday . Can’t wait to see what my foot looks like under all the bandages. I go Monday for my post op dressing change. I hope the pt helps correct your issues. Definately don’t want to do this again. I’ve always had small weak ankles myself. Because I teach fitness classes I believe my ankles have gotten a lot stronger. I used to twist them just walking down the street. It’s been many yrs since that happened. Will you be fitted for orthotics?

    Like

  3. I am having the exact same issue. Have there been any updates from the doctor or PT? I’m nervous my bunions are coming back! Obviously not as severe as they were to start, but they looked straighter a few weeks ago…

    Like

    1. Hi Jenna,
      I’m still working on my PT and the right one (the first foot to have surgery) is looking better and feeling better.
      The left one still has a ways to go. My doctor is happy with the fusion which is in the mid foot area. But she isn’t happy with the toes placement and says it’s the soft tissue and muscles that are causing it. The PT agrees with that and we are working on building strength and getting flexibility in the correct areas of my foot and ankle. The PT also said that this would be a life long maintenance program. That’s a little disheartening but in the big picture of life I guess it’s manageable.
      The PT also tells me often how easy it is for bunions to come back if these issues aren’t attended to. Guess that’s motivation?

      Like

Leave a comment